LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Peavey Vypyr tube 60 for $249: Good deal?  (Read 1233 times)

Offline axeman1

• LGM Member
  • No weapon means.....N-O-O-O WEAPON!!!!

Peavey Vypyr tube 60 for $249: Good deal?
« on: April 03, 2014, 08:38:58 PM »
After trading my Peavey Classic 30 for a Line6 2X12 last year.  I have intended to get another tube amp when I could justifiably afford it.  I mean justifiably because I already have way too much gear for someone with my admittedly limited ability. :-[   

I have a Schecter Diamond Series with Seymore Duncan pick-ups that I came very comfortable playing, however I just could not smooth out the sound for the life of me with either of the Line6 amps that I have.  A guy I started playing with had the exact same Line6 amp but had an inexpensive Ibanez guitar that sounded loads better with the Line6's so I bought a cheap very similar Ibanez which does sound a lot better but I still missed playing the Schecter and missed the tube sound.

Finally decided to check around for a reasonable tube amp and found a used Vypyr on line that had just come into a local GC selling for $249.  Listened to youtube demos then ran out and picked it up.  I'm really loving the sound in my basement but can't wait to try it at the churches I play at.

How do you guys like the amp and not that it matters because $249 is not a huge amount but do you think this was a good deal?
I am what God says I am, no less and no more.

Offline funkStrat_97

• LGM Member
  • Da' House Rocka' is in Da' House!
    • Facebook

Re: Peavey Vypyr tube 60 for $249: Good deal?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2014, 11:59:20 AM »