LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: need help w/chords  (Read 1337 times)

Offline ywain

• LGM Member

need help w/chords
« on: November 11, 2003, 12:02:46 PM »
i'm new to this site. i've seen chords displayed on this site, but i need a little explanation. D/A-C-E, is this to read a D in the bass with the with the A minor chord in the right hand, or a D chord in the left hand with a minor chord in the right hand?

Offline NeeOne

• LGM Member
    • http://

For what it's worth!
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2003, 08:07:57 PM »
If it helps you any, (and I'm no expert !!) I think it's D (single note) in the left hand and the a minor chord in the right!  I do think the directives in the chord postings should be a little more specific myself!!  Hope that helps! :wink:

Offline Long Fingers

• LGM Member

Re: need help w/chords
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2003, 08:36:26 AM »
Quote from: ywain
i'm new to this site. i've seen chords displayed on this site, but i need a little explanation. D/A-C-E, is this to read a D in the bass with the with the A minor chord in the right hand, or a D chord in the left hand with a minor chord in the right hand?

First off...welcome to the board!  So you're confused about the chords...it can be hard if the poster doesn't have a legend to tell you how to read, but many people do post that towards the beginning, so try to look for it. So here are some ways people post:

~ such and such: C

that's a chord notation/symbol and you would play it like this, play the C chord in your right and play the root, C, in your left hand as well.

~ such and such: C/A

that's a slash chord if you're reading a fake book or off the top of sheet music, you would read it and play it like this...whatever is to the left is the chord you play in your right hand, and what's to the right of the slash is what you play as your bass note in your left hand.