LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Where did you learn your theory  (Read 4898 times)

Offline walterh

• LGM Member

Where did you learn your theory
« on: August 08, 2005, 06:55:58 PM »
Hello,

I am new to the forum. I was wondering how many of you are classically trained musicians? How many of you learned theory from a teacher, school, or from books?

thanks

Offline B3Wannabe

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2005, 07:06:48 PM »
books

Offline JayZee

• LGM Member
    • gospel music train

theory
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2005, 07:13:24 PM »
First from books then from friends with music majors and degrees

God Bless You,

jayzee

www.gospelmusictrain.com

Offline DMusicMan87

• LGM Member

Self Taught
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2005, 07:39:51 PM »
Taught myself theory, I would look at sheet music, and listen to the track, and when it got to a repeat or D.C al Coda or something, it would go back to some point or whatever. I counted the notes on a keyboard in half and whole steps. That't how a found out about, WWHWWWH, which is the formula for a major scale. It's better to teach yourself, but if there is something that you don't understand, ask someone.

Offline bug

• LGM Member
  • Best teacher is one who makes you want to learn.
    • http://Music Services

Where did you learn your theory?
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2005, 10:26:05 PM »
I am self taught in Music Theory.  I did go to school and was taught all kinds of theories for many years.  Some of it is useless.  I took what I needed from school and used common sense in applying it to what I wanted to play.  I passed my tests and got my certificates, that say I am qualified to do different things in music, however music itself teaches you theory.  If you can read music, you can learn a lot from just reading it.