LearnGospelMusic.com Community

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: beginner help please  (Read 1350 times)

Offline ijames34

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member

beginner help please
« on: January 30, 2006, 12:56:00 PM »
where do I begin?  I don't have a clue but I want to learn to play the keyboard.

Offline Eggs

• LGM Royalty
  • LGM Member
    • http://

beginner help please
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2006, 01:23:21 PM »
I am learning in this order:

notes
scales
chords
progressions
songs

Theres a lot in each section, but if you can learn all the notes, then you can learn the scales (at least the major scales), and then the chords and progressions.

Use the resources on this site.... and practice all you can!

Hope this helps,

God bless,
Eggs

Offline T-Block

• LGM Member
  • I got my MBA!!!

beginner help please
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2006, 03:57:31 PM »
Music starts with your mind, which means music theory. There is no way around it. If you don't have the music theory in your head, then you just gonna be playing by ear, and you won't get very far just playing by ear.

You need to first know every single note on your keyboard.  You should know every single white key and black key anywhere on the keyboard.  

Once you got that, then dive into learning your major scales. There are 15 off them total and you should be able to recite them and their members w/out looking at a keyboard. Then when you get to a keyboard, say each letter of the scale first then play.

Next, move on to your basic chords: major, minor, augmented, diminished
chords. As with the major scales, you should be able to recite them and their members w/out looking at a keyboard. Then when you get to a keyboard, say each member of the chord first then play. This goes for each of the inversions and for every key also.